Beauty

Don’t be Afraid to Oil Your Skin

Yes, you are reading the title correctly. I am here to convince you to start oiling your skin today.

Oil is nothing but goodness for your face. However, you must pick your oil carefully as it will break you out if the oil is not suitable for your skin. I would say it is very personal, so please take your time to try out small amount before get the big one.

I started to oil my face few years back and the idea of natural skin care really attracted me. I love to oil my skin at night and it leaves soft, silky and supple skin in the morning. 

Tonight, I want to share my facial oil recipe to all of you. This recipe is suitable for acne prone skin and oily skin. 

To prepare home made facial oil, you will need 

  • a glass amber bottle c/w dropper.
  • 30ml/1 oz of carrier oil/based oil (I choose Jojoba Oil)
  • 10-12 drops of Essential oils (I use Tea tree oil and Hinoki oil)
  • Mix all the oils well by turning the bottle upside down and the facial oil is ready to use.

There are reasons why I choose Jojoba (Pronounce as Ho-ho-ba) oil. Unlike other oils, jojoba oil has the highest similarity to human sebum. By applying jojoba oil on your face, your skin will produce less sebum as it already get the protection and hydration from jojoba oil. The molecules of jojoba oil is too large to clog my pores and I hardly get acnes. 

Besides, it is high in Vitamin E, great antioxidants and antibacterial, and non-toxic. It is safe to use for most people.

For essential oils, you can choose any oils based on your preference and their functions. Tea tree oil is great for oily skin and acne prone skin. It is cheap and easy to find in market. I get my tea tree oil from Garden of Eden [RM29.50 | 10ml @Hishop.my]. 

Hinoki (Japanese Cypress) oil has the soothing and calming (Aromatherapy) effect. It is also a great wounds and infection healer and enable the reduction of skin cellulite which is great for women. You can get more information on Hinoki Oil from here. I get my Hinoki oil from here [RM68.90 | 10ml @ Yuansoap]. 

Other great essentials oil includes Rose, geranium, Ylang Ylang, Frankincense, and etc. You can refer here for the essential oils functions. Rose essential oil is the most expensive as 22 pounds of rose petals needed to make only 5ml of essential oil. Crazy.

1 oz of facial oil can last you for months. only 3 drops needed for your whole face and neck.

I hope I share enough information to you to start your own facial oil today. Feel free to share your recipe to me! 

2 thoughts on “Don’t be Afraid to Oil Your Skin

Leave a Reply

