Beauty

[Review] Shiseido Senka Aging Care UV Sunscreen SPF 50+ PA++++  Versus Bioré UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF 50+ PA++++ 

My first comparison review! You all know my favourite Sunscreen is Japanese suncreen and today I am comparing my two ultimate favourite sunscreens!

I have used at least three tubes of Bioré UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence [RM30.50 | 50g @ Watsons Malaysia] last year and I really love it. The consistency is same as mentioned, which is watery and moisturizing. It is non sticky, lightweight and it leaves a dewy finish on skin. 

This is my Nth tube of Bioré Aqua Rich Watery Essence

On the packaging it claims it can be used as a makeup base but I cannot tell the difference as I apply The Balm Face Primer before my foundation. This sunscreen does not leave a white film on my face and it does not affect my foundation application.

However, due to its watery consistency, I tend to finish a tube in a short period. Another thing I dislike is the dewy finish. My face looks oily even I stay indoor. Thus, I prefer to use a matte finish sunscreen. 

Bioré sunscreen can removed by using normal facial wash which is pretty convenient when travel. 

I knew about Senka 專科 when I was in Taiwan in 2012. Senka is a drugstore brand under Shiseido and it has great face wash. However, I will keep the face wash review next time and we will proceed to Senka UV Sunscreen [50g | $7.35 @Amazon ].

This is my first bottle of Senka Sunscreen and I really love it. Unlike Bioré sunscreen, it has thicker consistency yet it leaves a matte finish on my skin. A tiny bit goes a long way and it does not affect on foundation application as well. Since the packaging does not have English description, I have checked the details online.

Senka Aging Care UV Sunscreen SPF 50+ PA++++ 

Features & Details

  1. Anti-ageing sunscreen gel made with mineral water from Mount Fuji.
  2. Mineral water based “agar gel” formula that feels and apply like a beauty serum on skin.

Senka sunscreen does not have artificial fruity scent like Bioré but it has a little “sunscreen” scent. I am ok with the scents but if you dislike the artificial fresh fruity scent, Senka is more suitable for you. 

I do not notice any significant anti ageing effect on my skin but it does protect my skin from sun damage, like any other sunscreens do. 

Summary

  1. Both sunscreens have similar price tag (around RM30+) and they are 50g each.
  2. Bioré has dewy finish (watery consistency) while Senka has matte finish (thick milky gel consistency).
  3. Senka lasts longer than Bioré and has better product value.
  4. Senka does not have artificial fragrance while Bioré has mild fresh fruity scent.

Overall I give 9/10 for Senka and 8/10 for biore. For those who has dry skin, Bioré is made for you but if you have oily skin like me, go for Senka.

4 thoughts on “[Review] Shiseido Senka Aging Care UV Sunscreen SPF 50+ PA++++  Versus Bioré UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF 50+ PA++++ 

  1. I think for me the Bioré would be better based on the consistency and overall qualities you described. I have combo / dehydrated skin so a lot of the Asian sunscreens can be quite drying (high alcohol content). Great comparison. 🙂
    Right now I’m testing one I purchased in Japan – Allie UV Mineral Moist NEO SPF 50+ PA++++. It’s really nice – I also picked up Anessa Perfect UV Aqua Booster SPF 50+ PA++++ which I’ll try next!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anessa is seriously the bomb. However in Malaysia, the price is quite pricey. Bioré and Senka are drugstore products. They are affordable and effective. Win win situation. 😀 You should try Bioré. It is No. 1 bestselling sunscreen in Japan (drugstore edition)

      Like

Leave a Reply

